Alabama record 5th CFP title game against 1st Ohio State champion

ARLINGTON, TX: The top-ranked Alabama have two Heisman Trophy finalists and are entering the college football playoff championship game for a record fifth time. Ohio State is back for the first time since winning the inaugural title in the PSC era.

After SEC champion Crimson Tide passed Notre Dame 31-14 in a Rose Bowl played in Heart of Texas, the Big Ten No.3 Buckeyes defeated Clemson 49-28 in the other PSC semi-final at the Sugar Bowl Friday. night. The Tigers were trying, like Alabama, to make it to the title game for the fifth time in seven seasons of the four-team playoffs.

It is therefore a confrontation of memorable programs that play on January 11 in the suburbs of Miami to determine the champion of this most unusual season played in the shadow of a pandemic.

They haven’t met since the PSC freshman at the end of the 2014 regular season. Alabama was seeded in the first four-team playoffs, but Ohio State beat the Tide. 42-35 in the Sugar Bowl semi-final. The Buckeyes won the 42-20 national title over Oregon that year, but had lost twice to Clemson in the semifinals since.

Although this season the CFP have hosted a third consecutive title game against undefeated teams, it is a little different.

Alabama played 12 games, going through a conference-only regular season before holding Florida 52-46 in the SEC championship game and then winning the moved Rose Bowl. This semi-final was moved from Pasadena due to COVID-19[feminine[feminine restrictions that would have prevented family or fans from attending the game.

The Ohio States’ landslide victory at the Sugar Bowl was only its seventh game this season.

The Buckeyes had three regular season games canceled due to virus issues after the Big Ten did not start their season until the end of October. The league changed its rules to allow them to represent the Eastern Division in the conference championship game after just five regular season games, instead of the six that were originally mandated.

DeVonta Smith caught three of the other Heisman Trophy finalists Mac Jones four touchdowns in Alabamas during the Rose Bowl played at the home of the NFL Dallas Cowboys. Smith caught seven passes for 130 yards, while Jones completed 25 of 30 passes for 297 yards.

Justin Fields threw six touchdown passes in the Sugar Bowl as the Buckeyes avenged the CFP’s painful loss to Clemson last season.


More AP College Football: and

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.