Eligible families can begin applying June 1 for Connecticut’s new one-year-old tax refund program.
The child tax refund, which was recently authorized by the Connecticut General Assembly and signed into law by Governor Ned Lamont, is intended to help Connecticut families with children.
You may be eligible for a tax refund per child of up to a maximum of $750 ($250 per child up to three children).
To be eligible for this rebate, you must meet all of the following requirements:
- Must be a Connecticut resident;
- You must have claimed at least one child as a dependent on your 2021 federal income tax return who was 18 years of age or younger; Y
- You must meet certain income thresholds.
To receive the maximum amount, the income threshold is $100,000 or less for single or married filing separately; $169,000 or less for those filing as head of household; and $200,000 for married filing jointly.
Those with higher incomes may be eligible for a reduced rebate.
The Fiscal Services Department will accept applications from June 1 to July 31. families can apply online at the DRS website.