According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), new residents have 30 days—after settling in—to obtain a valid license that allows them to continue to enjoy driving privileges. This procedure is particularly necessary in the case of those people who have licenses from other states and must be accompanied by other requests such as processing valid automobile insurance in the state and the application for the registration of the vehicle that operates before the FLHSMV. For these last requests, the term is reduced to 10 days, after having settled in the state.
After applying for a valid license in the state of Florida, new residents receive a card that is mailed to the mailing address they provide to the FLHSMV.
How to obtain a driver’s license in the state of Florida if I am a new resident?
After settling in, new residents have 30 days to apply for a valid Florida driver’s license. This procedure must be carried out in person at a local FLHSMV office that issues driver’s licenses. During the process, the applicant is required to undergo a mandatory eye exam. The written test and the driving test may or may not be necessary, as the case may be..
In addition to the mandatory eye exam, a fee of $48 is required, which may be higher if the applicant adds a particular endorsement to the driver’s license. In the case of a business license, this fee is $75.
As in the case of a traditional application for a driver’s license in the state of Florida, new residents must present acceptable documents, primarily proof of identity, residency, and Social Security Number (SSN). Such documents will be registered in the files of the FLHSMV for future procedures.
How do I know if I am a resident of the state of Florida?
According to the FLHSMV, in addition to a move, there are other situations in which people automatically become residents of the state of Floridaeven if they do not have a fixed address:
– Have started a job or be involved in a trade, profession or occupation in this state.
– Have enrolled their children in the public schools of this state.
– Have registered to vote in this state.
– Have filed an application for exemption from real estate taxes in this state.
– Have lived in this state for a period of more than six consecutive months.
You may also like:
– Driver’s license in Florida: what are the current fees for applying or renewing it
– Driver’s license revoked in Florida: what violations can determine this penalty
– Driving Improvement Courses in Florida: When is it Mandatory to Take One?