Everything you need to know about the CFP College Semifinals

Where and at what time can you watch the games between Georgia vs Ohio State and Michigan vs TCU on the last day of 2022

After a long season in college football, on Saturday, December 31, the College Football Playoff Semifinals with two attractive duels between teams looking to return to the top.

First, the #3 TCU Horned Frogs are measured at No. 2 Michigan Wolverines at the Fiesta Bowl, at night the No. 4 Ohio State Buckeyes face the reigning No. 1 champions Georgia Bulldogs en el Peach Bowl.

The winners will meet next Monday, January 9 at the Game for the National Championship at SoFi Stadium in Inglewood, California.

Los Bulldogs They are the sixth team in the history of the CFP that arrives at semifinals the year after he became champion. In the previous five cases, the teams failed to defend their title with four out of five losing in the Game for the National Championshipthe Alabama Crimson Tide was the last to win back-to-back national championships in the 2011 and 2012 seasons.

Also, Georgia is two wins away from reaching 29 wins in the last two seasons, which would tie the Clemson Tigers (2018-19), Penn (1896-1897) and Yale (1894-1895) for the most wins in a two-season span in college football history.

Las semifinals of the College Football Playoff of college football you can enjoy them through Star+, subscribe here!

These are the facts you should know of the semifinals of College Football Playoff:

College Football Playoff

semifinal of CFP at the Vrbo Fiesta Bowl
N° 2 Michigan vs. N° 3 TCU

Place: State Farm Stadium (Glendale, Arizona)
Hour: 3 pm CDMX
Canal: ESPN y Star+subscribe here!

After winning back-to-back Big Ten titles for the first time since 2003-2004, Michigan will also have back-to-back appearances in the CFP. With a 13-0 record, this team from the Wolverines already has the most wins in a season in program history.

With a win over TCU, Michigan would join Ohio State from 2002 and 2014 as the only Big Ten teams to win 14 games in a season. No Big Ten team has ever won 15 games in a single season.

Michigan finished the regular season with a +347 point differential, his best regular-season figure since 1905, when the Wolverines they outscored their rivals 495-2.

TCU came to CFP despite being out of The Associated Press top 25 before the season began. They are the second team to achieve it in the era of CFPjoining Michigan which he did last year.

Los Horned Frogs they’re used to playing against the odds right now. TCU had 200-1 odds to win the championship going into the season at Caesars Sportsbook, the lowest odds for a team reaching the College Football Playoff.

If the Horned Frogs win the national championship 83 years would have passed between their titles. That would be by far the longest wait between championships in the AP poll era (since 1936).

The Auburn Tigers are the program with the longest wait between championships at 52 years (1958-2009), followed by Michigan con 48 (1949 a 1996) y Tennessee Volunteers con 46 (1952 a 1997).

Sonny Dykes is the third head coach to reach the CFP in his first full season on the show. Ryan Day (Ohio State in 2019) and Lincoln Riley (Oklahoma Sooners in 2019) both lost in the semifinals.

Both teams are more dangerous in the second halves. Michigan has the best second half point margin at +206 points, second only to the 2013 Florida State Seminoles who had +243.

Los Wolverines have posted a second-half point differential of 20 or better in seven games this season, tied with 2008 Tulsa and 2011 Houston for the most by a team in a season since 2005.

TCU They have also been a great team in the second halves, usually because they have had to come from behind. They have shone when trailing in the second half, winning five games when trailing at halftime. Tied with Troy, North Carolina and Coastal Carolina for the most such wins in FBS.

Quarterback Max Duggan finished second in Heisman Trophy voting and was the first runner-up for TCU since LaDanian Tomlinson in 2000. Leads the conference in passing yards (3,321) and touchdown passes (30), which are the third-most in a season for TCUtrailing only a pair of seasons from Trevone Boykin (33 in 2014 and 31 in 2015).

However, Michigan he has found a linchpin in the midst of adversity this season. With Blake Corum out for the season, Donovan Edwards has become the leading rusher for the Wolverines. Edwards has 401 rushing yards in his last two games, the first player to Michigan with 400 yards in a two-game span since Mike Hart in 2004.

Although Corum isn’t playing, he and Edwards are the first pair of running backs in baseball history. Michigan in each having three 150 rushing games in the same season.

And at quarterback, JJ McCarthy is coming off his two best games of the season. He is averaging 10.3 yards per attempt and has thrown six touchdown passes for one interception.

semifinal of CFP en el Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl
N° 1 Georgia vs. N° 4 Ohio State

Place: Mercedes-Benz Stadium (Atlanta)
Hour: 7 pm CDMX
Canal: ESPN y Star+subscribe here!

And Georgia defeat Ohio Statewould tie 2015-16 Alabama (28) for the most wins over a two-season span in SEC history.

Los Bulldogs they are also looking to repeat as national champions, something that hasn’t been done since Alabama did in 2011 and 2012. Since 1990, the only other programs to have won back-to-back national titles are the Nebraska Cornhuskers (1994-95) and USC Trojans. (2003-04).

Ohio State He has won six national titles, the fifth most since 1936.

CJ Stroud and the offense of Ohio State they remain among the best in the nation, ranking second in the FBS in yards per play at 7.3. When Ohio State have the ball it will be a duel of strengths since the second team with the most points scored is measured at Georgia, who has allowed the second fewest points in FBS. The last time such a matchup occurred was in the 2019 Fiesta Bowl, when the No. 1 offense of Ohio State faced Clemson’s No. 1 scoring defense in the Semifinal of the CFPgame that the Tigers won, 29-23.

Stroud, who attended the Heisman ceremony, is the first player in Big Ten history to throw at least 30 touchdown passes in consecutive seasons.

For his part, Stetson Bennett finished fourth in the Heisman voting, becoming the first player to Georgia who has attended the ceremony since Garrison Hearst in 1992. Bennett is 24-1 as a starter since the start of last season, the most wins by a quarterback in that span.

In his career, Bennett is 27-3 and his .900 winning percentage as a starter is tied for third-best in SEC history (with at least 30 starts), behind Jay Barker (.934, Alabama) and Danny Wuerffel (.903, Florida Gators).

Bennett has a chance to win the national title for the second straight season. In the last 25 seasons, there are two starting quarterbacks who have won the national title in back-to-back seasons: Matt Leinart (2003 and 2004 with USC) and AJ McCarron (2011-2012 with Alabama).

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.