Jake Gagne is MotoAmerica champion and tied with Eddie Lawson and Wayne Rainey; Danilo Petrucci is second

Jake Gagne is once again champion in the MotoAmerica Superbike category. The 2010 Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup champion claimed his second title after dominating the season with 17 wins in 2021. He concluded the 2022 championship with 12 triumphs, where he failed to make the podium on five occasions, but this second title places him alongside historic names in world motorcycling.

After securing pole position, Gagne started and was initially protected by teammate, Cameron Petersen. At the end of the 20 laps on the Alabama track, Gagne crossed the finish line and Mathew Scholtz finished second more than five seconds behind last year’s champion. It should be noted that this was Gagne’s 12th victory of the season and Gagne’s 29th AMA Superbike victory.

As for the third place, it was finally officially decided after the end of this race. Danilo Petrucci was fighting for fourth place after a five-second penalty for a false start. However, after the team call, Petrucci secured third place and PJ Jacobsen ended up giving up one spot in the standings, placing fourth. Hector Barbera finished fifth.

In the second race, the last of the championship, it was perfect for the Fresh N Lean Progressive Yamaha Racing duo, with both riders finishing in the top two positions. However, the victory was taken by Petersen, who managed to stay three seconds ahead of Gagne and thus record the second victory of the season and the third of his career.

Third, PJ Jacobsen took the lowest place on the podium by overtaking Danilo Petrucci in the last corner of the race; the gap between the two pilots was 0.206 seconds when crossing the finish line. Scholtz finished in fifth place.

At the end of this final round of MotoAmerica, Jake Gagne claimed his second title in MotoAmerica’s highest category with a total of 376 points, tying Eddie Lawson and Wayne Rainey, champions in 1981/1982 and 1983/1987, respectively. . It should be noted that Wes Cooley is the last of a group of four names to have been champion twice, in 1979 and 1980, in MotoAmerica.

Danilo Petrucci had to settle for second place after 356 points, leaving him 20 points behind Gagne. Third place in the championship went to Cameron Petersen, who was 72 points behind his teammate and finished the season with 304 points.

Course 1 :

Source : MotoAmerica

Course 2 :

Source : MotoAmerica

Final championship scores:

Source : MotoAmerica

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.