Maryland Primary Election Results – NBC4 Washington

On Tuesday, Maryland voters chose who will be the candidates in the fall general contests. Dozens of charges were up for grabs.

Vote centers began receiving voters at 7 a.m. and remained open until 8 p.m.

The most important race on the ballot was the Democratic primary for governor of the state. Six hopefuls competed to become the candidate who will face the incumbent Republican governor, Larry Hogan, in November.

The two favorites were Prince George’s County Executive Rushern Baker and former NAACP President Ben Jealous. Baker is considered a more traditional challenger and is favored by the establishment a Democrat, while Jealous is more progressive, WTOP reported. Jealous was victorious, and if he wins the overall contest, he would become the first African-American Governor of Maryland.

Similarly, several state and local races were contested: Voters chose candidates from each party for Montgomery County and Prince George’s County executives, eight seats in the US House of Representatives, and one in the US Senate for Maryland. In addition, all 188 seats in the state General Assembly – 47 seats in the Senate and 141 seats in the House of Representatives – were on the ballot.

Our sister network NBC4 has the full election results. To see them, visit this link.

Here are the most important contests:

Governor of Maryland

Democratic primary

  • Rushern Baker – 29%
  • Ralph Jaffe
  • Ben Jealous – Winner with 40% of the votes.
  • James Jones
  • Rich Madaleno
  • Alec Ross
  • Jim Shea
  • Krish Vignarajah

US Senate

Democratic primary

  • Ben Cardin – Winner with 80% of the votes
  • Erik Jetmir
  • Chelsea Manning
  • Marcia H Morgan
  • Jerome Segal
  • Richard “Rikki” Vaughn
  • Debbie Wilson
  • Lih Young

republican primary

  • Tony Campbell – Winner with 29% of the votes
  • Chris Chaffee
  • Evan M. Cronhardt
  • Accept the King
  • John R. Graziani
  • Christina J. Grigorian,
  • Albert Binyahmin Howard
  • Bill Krehnbrink
  • Gerald I. Smith Jr.
  • Blaine Taylor
  • Brian Charles Vaeth

US House of Representatives

for district 3 – parts of Baltimore, Howard, Montgomery and Anne Arundel counties

Democratic primary

  • Adam DeMarco
  • John Rea
  • Edward Roses
  • Headline – John Sarbanes – Winner with 83% of the votes

republican primary

  • Charles Anthony – Winner with 43% of the votes
  • Thomas E. “Pinkston” Harris
  • Rob Seyfferth

for district 5 – Charles, St. Mary’s and Calvert counties and parts of Prince George and Anne Arundel

Democratic primary

  • Dennis Fritz
  • Incumbent – Steny Hoyer – Winner with 84% of the votes

republican primary

  • William Devine III – Winner with 58% of the votes
  • Johnny Rice

for district 8 – parts of Montgomery and Prince George’s counties to the Pennsylvania border

Democratic primary

  • My way Paul
  • Headline – Jamie Raskin – Winner with 91% of the votes
  • Summer Spring

republican primary

  • Bridgette Cooper
  • John Walsh – Winner with 45% of the votes
  • Victor Williams

Prince George’s County Executive

The Republican candidate, Jerry Mathis, has no rival.

Democratic primary

  • Angela Alsobrooks – Winner with 62% of the votes
  • Sam Bogley
  • Billy Bridges
  • Donna Edwards
  • Lewis S. Johnson
  • Michael E. Kennedy
  • Paul Monteiro
  • Anthony C. Muse
  • Tommie Thompson

Montgomery County Executive

The winner will face Republican Robin Ficker in November.

Democratic primary

  • Roger Berliner
  • David Blair
  • Marc Elrich
  • C. William Frick
  • Rose Krasnow
  • George Leventhal

Montgomery County Council

Voter-approved term limit changes two years ago put many council seats up for grabs this primary.

Thirty-three Democrats, four Republicans and one member of the Green Party will compete for four general seats, according to WTOP.

General or at-large (voters choose four)

Democratic primary

  • Gabe Albornoz – Winner
  • Rosemary O. Arkoian
  • Marilyn Balcombe
  • Charles Barkley
  • Shruti Bhatnagar
  • Cherri L. Branson
  • Brandy H.M. Brooks
  • Craig Carozza-Caviness
  • Ron Colbert
  • Bill Conway
  • Hoan Dang
  • Tom R. Falcinelli Jr.
  • Lorna Phillips Forde
  • Jill Ortman Fouse
  • Loretta Jean Garcia
  • Paul S. Geller
  • Evan Glass – Winner
  • Richard Gottfried
  • Neil H. Greenberger
  • Seth Grimes
  • Ashwani Jain
  • Will Jawando – Winner
  • David V. Lipscomb
  • Melissa McKenna
  • Danielle Meitiv
  • Hans Riemer – Winner
  • Michele Riley
  • Graciela Rivera-Oven
  • Darwin Romero
  • Mohammad Siddique
  • Jarrett Smith
  • Steve Solomon
  • Chris Wilhelm

republican primary

  • Robert Dyer
  • Chris P. Fiotes Jr.
  • Penny Musser
  • Shelly Skolnick

For District 1 (Voters choose one)

Democratic primary

  • Bill Cook
  • Peter Fosselman
  • Andrew Friedson – Winner with 28% of the votes
  • Ana Sol Gutierrez
  • Jim McGee
  • Regina “Reggie” Oldak
  • Dalbin Osorio
  • Meredith Wellington

republican primary

for district 2

Democratic primary

  • Tiquia J. Bennett
  • Craig L. Rice – Winner with 74% of the votes

republican primary

  • Ed Amatetti – Winner with 52% of the votes
  • Tom Ferman
  • Kyle Sefcik

for district 3

Democratic primary

  • Sidney Katz – Winner with 53% of the votes
  • Ben Shnider

for district 4

Democratic primary

  • Jay Graney – Winner with 91% of the votes
  • Nancy Navarro

for district 5

Democratic primary

  • Kevin Harris
  • Tom Hucker – Winner with 68% of the votes
  • Kenge Malikidogo-Fludd

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.