Members of Kendall County Council get term lengths based on total electoral votes; lawsuit still ongoing – Shaw Local

YORKVILLE — Voters have determined not only who will represent them on Kendall County Council in the Nov. 8 election, but also how long they will serve.

Every 10 years, the whole of the county council is elected to allow a redistricting after the decennial census.

Terms are staggered so that half of the Board seats are elected every two years.

This time, board members Brian DeBolt of Plano, Elizabeth Flowers of Montgomery, Scott Gengler of Yorkville, Ruben Rodriguez of Yorkville and Dan Koukol of Oswego are getting four-year terms to start.

The other five directors, including four new ones, will start with a two-year term. They include Jason Peterson from Yorkville, Brooke Shanely from Aurora, Seth Wormley from Millbrook, Matt Kellogg from Yorkville and Zach Bachmann from Montgomery.

Kellogg, the only veteran council member among this second group, was elected chairman of the county council at its December 5 reorganization meeting.

DeBolt, who received the most votes in the general election, was named Kendall County Forest Reserve District Chairman.

The county has in the past used a lottery system in which the county clerk draws numbered ping-pong balls to determine which five council members will start with four-year terms and who will be eligible for re-election in just two years.

Evenly distributed population growth meant that no redistribution was necessary for the two county council districts from which voters elect five members each.

However, the board decided before the election to change the way staggered terms are determined.

Under the new system, the first five voters start with a four-year term. If that person runs and is re-elected, they will serve another four years, followed by a two-year term before the next census.

The other five board members will begin with a two-year term, followed by two four-year terms, assuming that person is re-elected.

The new system was the subject of a legal challenge initiated well before the elections.

Yorkville’s Todd Milliron filed a lawsuit in Kendall County Circuit Court on September 19, accusing the system of violating state election law.

Milliron was a candidate for a county board seat under the Kendall County Party’s independent label, but was not elected.

Board members say their total voting system is better and fairer than random selections, but in his lawsuit argues that a random selection is exactly what is required under the law of the ‘State.

Kendall County State’s Attorney Eric Weis said the next scheduled hearing in the trial is Dec. 9.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.