NCAA College Football Playoffs | Georgia vs TCU: Stetson Bennett: Player 2,569 becomes one of the greatest legends in NCAA history

UA player who did not receive scholarship offers just led the fifth two-time championship in modern NCAA history. Stetson Bennett and the Georgia Bulldogs they endorsed the national championship, in a sequel that perhaps was not as dominant in the regular season or in the semifinals, but it was in the end and leave one movie story.

Bennett was a two-star prospect coming out of high school. He was player 2,569 of his generation, according to the rankings of 24/7 Sports. The only scholarship offers he received were from Columbia, Georgia Southern, Mercer y Middle Tennessee State. Instead of going to a minor program, he followed the family tradition and went to the University of Georgia in 2017.

He went without a scholarship to the team. He didn’t play that year, but he helped quarterback the practice squad as they prepared to face Oklahoma in the semifinal of Rose Bowl, imitating the Baker Mayfield. Georgia falls to Tua Tagovailoa’s miraculous step of being national champion.


Con Justin Fields about to reach the Bulldogs, Bennett sought playing time at the level JUCO, route once followed by another NCAA legend, Cam Newton, between his time in Florida and Auburn. Ah brill and scholarship offers arrived from Kent State, Massachusetts y Louisiana. I was going with the Ragin’ Cajuns until the call came from Georgiawho looked for him after Fields se fuera a Ohio State.

So he returned to the team of his loves in 2019, but it was the Jake Fromm’s understudy. He played just four games, but there was an option to fight for ownership in 2020, but the team did not see it because it brought the transfers JT Daniels and Jamie Newman. The injury of the first and the bad level of the second led to Bennett, famous for wearing a Postal Service mailman’s cap to attract the attention of recruiters, finally made headlines. with Georgia.

The 5 two-time champions in the Modern Era of the NCAA

  1. Notre Dame in 1946 and 1947
  2. Oklahoma in 1955 and 1956
  3. Nebraska in 1994 and 1995
  4. Alabama in 2011 and 2012
  5. Georgia in 2021 and 2022

Not everything was honey on flakes. Three interceptions against Alabama and two more against Kentucky led to Daniels regaining the starting job coming back from injury. This is how it remained at the beginning of 2021, but another injury arrived. Bennett jumped at the chance and went undefeated in the regular season. Again, fate put obstacles in the way because Alabama beat them in the conference finals, but their season earned them to sneak into the semifinals.

Ah, there were doubts as to whether Georgia would turn to Daniels again if ‘The Postman’ didn’t respond. Against Michigan it was not necessary. Alabama awaits them again in the final and a fumble in the third quarter put them behind. The ghosts of 2021 reappeared, but The change did not arrive and the best version of Bennett to achieve the comeback in the last period. ‘The Postman’ delivered Georgia’s first national championship since 1980.

Bennett took the extra year of eligibility due to the pandemic and returned to a Bulldogs who lost 15 players to the NFL Draft. Of little importance: They won all their games, except one in Missouri, by at least two scores. It was finalist for the Heisman. The two-time championship not seen in the NCAA since Alabama in 2011 and 2012 was close, but they had to rally from a 14-yard deficit going into the fourth quarter against Ohio State and survive a last-second field goal to return to the end.

Ah, TCU was run over by fate and Bennett will be eternal in Georgia, but also asks for a place at the table of the greatest legends in the history of college football. The NFL, I’ll see; someone will give it a chance and maybe it won’t look so good there. For the meantime, player 2,569 rubs shoulders with Tim Tebow, Cam Newton, Vince Young and company.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.