Neutral Milk Hotel will re-release their entire discography under the box-set ‘The Collected Works’

Neutral Milk Hotelthe legendary band led by Jeff Mangumannounces the launch of a truly luxurious box set with all the material that the group has published since its origins under the ambitious name of The Collected Works.

In the same way that Mangum already compiled in 2011 the various contributions of the band over the years in rigorous detail in a limited edition and released under their own label, they are now responsible for Merge Records who pay this personal tribute to the trajectory of the Louisiana band with a project that marks the first digital release of many of the fundamental pieces in the career of Neutral Milk Hotel. So that, The Collected Works will include an extended double LP version of the album On Avery Islanda twelve-inch version of the Live at Jittery Joe’sa double pack with the unpublished demo and live versions of his Little Birdsas well as the singles Holland, 1945 y Engine in seven-inch format and black vinyl, with new artwork.

Of course, the pack will also include the well-known album by Neutral Milk Hotel titled In the Aeroplane Over the Sea, for now the last work that the band signed in a distant 1998, which despite the inexorable passage of time, continues to be one of the emblematic albums of independent pop and lo-fi rock thanks to that ability to give voice to the perennial spirit of youthful epiphany and invite us to begin to see the world clearly. The icing on the cake is the reissue of the EPs Everything Is (with bonus songs), Ferris Wheel on Fireand the 1996 live album Live at Jittery Joe’s.

To give this announcement the well-deserved reception, Mangum wanted to give us a double single in advance that includes the demo version of Little Birds, as well as if live version. On the subject in question, he tells us in a statement that he wrote it after a public confrontation with a street preacher in the center of Athens, who in his particular homily threw different sentences of hatred towards people from the LGBTQ collective. According to his account, Mangum came to confront him in such a way that he had to get off his particular lectern and run away. That harrowing experience reverberated so much in Mangum that he decided to write Little Birdsa song about many things, including the way that conservative Christianity all too often imbues so-called believers with a completely distorted sense of morality.

The Collected Works will be published next February 24th hand seal Merge Records.

Neutral Milk Hotel – Little Birds

Tracklist de ‘The Collected Works’ de Neutral Milk Hotel:

In the Aeroplane Over the Sea

  1. King of the Carrot Flowers Pt. 1
  2. King of Carrot Flowers Pts. 2 & 3
  3. In The Aeroplane Over the Sea
  4. Two-Headed Boy
  5. Fool
  6. Holland, 1945
  7. Communist Daughter
  8. Oh Comely
  9. Ghost
  10. [untitled]
  11. Two-Headed Boy Pt. 2

On Avery Island

  1. Song Against Sex
  2. You’ve Passed
  3. Someone Is Waiting
  4. A Baby for Pree
  5. Marching Theme
  6. Where You’ll Find Me Now
  7. Avery Island/April 1st
  8. Gardenhead/Leave Me Alone
  9. Three Peaches
  10. Naomi
  11. April 8th
  12. Pree-Sisters Swallowing a Donkey’s Eye

Ferris Wheel On Fire

  1. Oh Sister (1995)
  2. Ferris Wheel On Fire (1993)
  3. Home (1992)
  4. April 8th (1992)
  5. I Will Bury You in Time (1994)
  6. Engine (1993)
  7. A Baby for Pree/Glow Into You (1995)
  8. My Dream Girl Don’t Exist (Live) [1992]

Everything Is

  1. Everything Is
  2. Here We Are (For W. Cullen Hart)
  3. Unborn
  4. Tuesday Moon
  5. Ruby Bulb
  6. Snow Song
  7. Aunt Eggma Blow Torch

Little Birds

  1. Little Birds (Live) [1998]
  2. Little Birds (Studio Demo) [1998]

You’ve Passed / Where You’ll Find Me Now

  1. You’ve Passed (Alternate Version)
  2. Where You’ll Find Me Now (Alternate Version)

Live at Jittery Joe’s

  1. Intro
  2. A Baby for Pree
  3. Two-Headed Boy
  4. I Will Bury You in Time
  5. Gardenhead / Leave Me Alone
  6. Two-Headed Boy Pt. 2
  7. I Love How You Love Me
  8. Engine
  9. Naomi
  10. King of Carrot Flowers Pt. 2
  11. King of Carrot Flowers Pt. 3
  12. Oh Comely

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.