Starting today, several new laws will go into effect in Connecticut. Here’s what you need to know about each of them.
New pedestrian safety law
Pedestrians will be able to inform drivers that they will cross the street with their hand signals.
The new law applies to marked and unmarked crosswalks, and to any intersection where people can walk from corner to corner. It will be the driver’s responsibility to stop or slow down when a pedestrian attempts to cross.
Drivers who fail to yield could face a $500 fine.
Bottle fee for mini bottles of alcohol
A five cent fee will now be added for any mini bottles of alcohol purchased.
Fees will go toward recycling and litter cleanup efforts within the cities or towns where the mini bottles were purchased. The money can also go toward anything from hiring a recycling coordinator to buying special storm drains to keep trash out.
The fee is non-refundable, so people cannot turn in their mini bottles like they would a bottle of water to get their deposit back.
Starting today, medical marijuana patients will be able to grow up to three mature and three immature plants at home.
The limit will be 12 plants in total per household.
seat belt requirement
A new law will require anyone inside a vehicle to wear a seat belt, including those in the back seat. Previously, adult passengers in the back seat were not required to wear seat belts.
In an analysis of crashes in Connecticut between 2017 and 2020, more than 12,000 people sitting in the back seat were injured and dozens were killed. The Department of Transportation (DOT) hopes this new law will help change that.
“Our goal at DOT is zero fatalities and it’s hard to imagine. But unrestrained passengers in the back seat can become projectiles in the event of a crash, causing some serious injuries or deaths,” said DOT Commissioner Joseph Giulietti.
Officers can’t pull you over for not buckling up, but if you’re pulled over for something else, like speeding, and the officer sees someone unbuckled, they can be ticketed. It’s a $50 fine if the driver is 18 or older. A fine of $75 if the driver is under 18 years of age.
A domestic violence law, called Jennifer’s Law, protects victims of domestic violence when they try to leave an abusive relationship.
The law is named after Jennifer Dulos.
Expands the definition of domestic violence to include “coercive control,” which is described as a pattern of threatening, humiliating, or intimidating acts.
The new definition will now apply to all family court proceedings, not just restraining orders.
Ice Cream Truck Safety Law
A new bill will now require ice cream trucks to alert drivers that children are nearby.
Tristan’s Law will require ice cream truck owners to install flashing lights, caution signs, signal arms and convex front mirrors on trucks by May.
The law is named after 10-year-old Tristan Barhorst, who died after being hit by a car after buying ice cream.
Breastfeeding in the workplace
A new law has been passed that will take effect today that will address breastfeeding in the workplace.
Under the new law, any female employee may, at her discretion, express breast milk or breastfeed at her workplace during her meal or rest period and an employer “will make reasonable efforts to provide a room or other place , in close proximity to the work area, other than a bathroom, where the employee can express milk in private.
Inoperable traffic signals
If a traffic control signal at an intersection is not working, a driver will be required to stop and proceed as if a stop sign were facing each direction at the intersection, unless a police officer directs the driver to do so. otherwise.