Results of Key Races – NBC4 Washington

Both Republicans and Democrats have closely watched Maryland’s gubernatorial primary this year. Here you can review some of the races in a major election year with open seats across the state, including for attorney general and comptroller. All 188 seats in the Maryland General Assembly are also on the ballot.

Here you can see the results in detail.

Governor: Dan Cox is running endorsed by former President Donald Trump

Dan Cox defeated his moderate rival backed by Governor Larry Hogan. Cox will face the winner of the Democratic primary in the general election in November.

Wes Moore, a successful writer backed by Oprah Winfrey, was in the lead Tuesday night as attention turned to mail-in ballots, which would not be counted until later in the week.

Tom Perez, the former Secretary of Labor, who previously served as chairman of the Democratic National Committee, and State Comptroller Peter Franchot, who won wide margins of victory in his four terms as state tax collector, were the other leading candidates.

Although it’s a point for Trump, Cox’s win over former Hogan aide Kelly Schulz could deal a blow to Republican chances of keeping the state in November.

Attorney General: Democrats Elect Anthony Brown, Republicans Nominate Michael Peroutka

Rep. Anthony Brown defeated Katie Curran O’Malley, a former judge and first lady of Maryland, for the Democratic nomination for attorney general, a position that opens with the retirement of attorney general Brian Frosh. Brown was lieutenant governor during the administration of former Governor Martin O’Malley, husband of Curran O’Malley. For the Republican Party, Michael Peroutka, who served one term on the Anne Arundel County Council, defeated former prosecutor Jim Shalleck. The winner of the Democratic primary will be a heavy favorite in the general election. Maryland hasn’t had a Republican attorney general in nearly 70 years.

See Also:  tornadoes reported in Maryland and New Jersey; I could follow New York

Comptroller: Brooke Lierman will face Republican Barry Glassman

Brooke Lierman, a state legislator from Baltimore, won the Democratic nomination to be the state’s tax collector. She defeated Tim Adams, the mayor of Bowie. Republican Barry Glassman, who is the Hartford County executive and a former state senator, has run unopposed for the GOP nomination. In addition to being the state’s tax collector, the comptroller is one of three voting members of the powerful state Board of Public Works, along with the governor and treasurer.

Senate: Chris Chaffee wins Republican nomination to take on Van Hollen

Senator Chris Van Hollen, who is running for a second term, defeated his rival in the Democratic primary: Michelle Smith, a Freedom of Information Act policy analyst for the US Agency for International Development (USAID). , for its acronym in English).

According to AP, Chris Chaffee, who ran unsuccessfully against US Rep. Steny Hoyer in 2014, won the Republican nomination in a 10-candidate primary. NBC has not confirmed the results of the contest.

House of Representatives: Incumbents win most districts

The AP predicts that Glenn Ivey, a former state attorney for Prince George’s County, will win the Democratic nomination for Maryland’s 4th congressional district by defeating Rep. Donna Edwards. The majority-black district in the suburbs of the nation’s capital is heavily Democratic and is the only open race.

Republican Rep. Andy Harris is running unopposed in Tuesday’s primary for the 1st congressional district, which includes Maryland’s eastern shore. Heather Mizeur, a former state legislator, defeated David Harden to win the Democratic nomination to challenge Harris.

Democrats hold a 7-1 lead in the state’s House delegation. All of the incumbents who ran for re-election won their primaries.

See Also:  Charged with Sexual Assaults at LA Fitness in Maryland – NBC4 Washington

In Western Maryland, delegate Neil Parrott won the GOP nomination for the 6th congressional district, defeating Colt Black, Matthew Foldi, Jonathan Jenkins, Robert Poissonnier and Mariela Roca.

The seat for the 6th congressional district, currently held by Democratic Rep. David Trome, has become more competitive, after a new congressional map had to be created because the initial version approved by the state legislature was overturned by a judge due to manipulation of electoral districts. Trone won his primary, defeating George Gluck, Heba Machado Zayas, and Ben Smilowitz.

Montgomery County Executive

The Montgomery County Executive race is hotly contested. Early results show businessman David Blair with a slight lead over incumbent Marc Elrich.

In the Republican primaries, Reardon Sullivan is comfortably winning.

Prince George’s County Executive

In Prince George’s County, Telemundo 44 and the AP project Angela Alsobrooks, the incumbent, as the winner. The first results show that she has received more than 90% of the vote for the Democratic side. Her closest competition reports just 3%.

There are no Republican candidates for County Executive.

Results of the Maryland General Assembly

The 188-seat Democratic-controlled Maryland General Assembly is also on the ballot.

Maryland’s 47-member state senate has seven seats up for grabs after several senators announced they would not run again. The House of Delegates also saw significant departures, including Delegate Maggie McIntosh, a Baltimore Democrat who led the House budget committee, and Delegate Shane Pendergrass, a Howard County Democrat who led the health care committee. and government operations of the lower house.

When will the final results be announced?

It could take days, if not longer, for Maryland to determine the winners of the most closely contested races, such as the Democratic primary for the gubernatorial nomination. State law prohibits counties from opening mail-in ballots until the Thursday after Election Day.

See Also:  Five Teens Charged After Fight at Football Game – NBC4 Washington

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.