Sad Daddy: Way Up In The Hills |

Sad Daddy – Way Up In The Hills. Bildrechte, Cover: Catfish Records

Sad Daddy make us happy Way Up In The Hills with country music that unfolds its archaic, summery charm as if by magic. Sad Daddy is one of Melissa Carper’s bands. Carper first garnered attention with her outstanding debut solo album, Daddy’s Country Gold, which was released last year.

Even if Melissa Carper Born in Nebraska, she would probably call Arkansas her home, and right from the start on the album opener “Arkansas Bound” she locates herself as a Midwestern product. A song that radiates so much calm and maturity right from the start makes you sit up and take notice.

Melissa Carper is an old hand in the music business. She played her first album in 2005 as a duo Camptown Ladies a. 2010, in AustinTexas living, the trio with the funny name came as another band The Carper Family added. In the same year she founded Sad Daddy together with friends from Arkansas, with whom she is now presenting her fourth album. Sad Daddy also includes Carper’s girlfriend Rebecca Patek with whom she is also in the old school country duo Buffalo Gals Band plays, with whom she released two great albums in 2018 and 2020.

On “Way Up In The Hills” there are now 12 own compositions, which, garnished with some bluegrass and western swing, breathe a lot of old time and country folk. The tracks on the album were all recorded during the first shutdown of 2020 in a small shack in rural Arkansas. This gives the relaxed songs the lightness of a front porch jam in the warm evening sun, in which all four band members take turns singing the lead. A barn dance hit like “Charlie Pickle” or an ode is also allowed Bacon not missing. “Live Real Lean,” which features fiddler Rebecca Patek on lead vocals, captures that vibe perfectly. You only need two ears and off you go on vacation! Wonderful!

Sad Daddy – Way Up In The Hills: Das 2022er Album

Sad Daddy - Way Up In The Hills

title: Way Up In The Hills
artist: Sad Daddy
release date: 22. April 2022
Label: ‎ Catfish Records
Formate: CD & Digital
Tracks: 14
Genre: Country & Folk, Bluegrass

Sad Daddy - Way Up In The Hills: Bei Amazon bestellen

Sad Daddy - Way Up In The Hills: Bei JPC bestellen

Trackliste: (Way Up In The Hills)

01. Arkansas Bound
02. Big River
03. Bacon
04. Live Real Lean
05. Cold Rain
06. Charlie Pickle
07. Hangin‘ Them Clothes On The Line
08. Make It Roll
09. Up In The Hills
10. Sunday Evening
11. Back In Arkansas
12. Poor Man’s Son
13. Wild Road
14. Arkansas Bound (Reprise)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.