Texting and Driving Banned in Arizona Starting Jan. 1 | Univision Phoenix KTVW

As of this Friday, you will no longer be able to use the cell phone with your hands while driving.

The first violation will result in a fine of between $ 75 and $ 149 and subsequent violations can be up to $ 250.

“There is no good reason to text and drive,” said Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) Director John Halikowski. “Many people think that they are excellent drivers and that they can multitask behind the wheel. They are all wrong. Frankly, people become dangerous drivers when they divert their attention from the road to the small screen of their phone. Distracted driving must stop. “

In 2019, at least 10,491 Arizonans were in crashes motor vehicles that involved distracted drivers.

According to the Arizona Department of Public Safety , you will be allowed:

  • Activate and deactivate a function on the device, such as starting a GPS route and answering or ending a call.
  • Talk on the portable wireless communication device (known as Bluetooth) with a headset, headset or wrist-worn device for voice-based communication.
  • Use a device for vehicle navigation.
  • Use a device in an emergency situation to request help or report a crime.

Look also

These are the consequences you could have if you are caught driving under the influence of marijuana in Arizona

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.