Trump is mobilizing Congress to reject the presidential election result

The incumbent US President Donald Trump is still lobbying to confront the victory of US President-elect Joe Biden, as he rallies an increasing number of Republican lawmakers who joined his extraordinary efforts to nullify the results of the presidential election held on November 3, pledging to reject the results when Congress meets on Wednesday to ratify On the results of the electoral college that confirmed Biden’s victory, according to what the American “Associated Press” reported on Saturday.

On Saturday, Republican Senator Ted Cruz of Texas announced a coalition of 11 senators and elected senators who had joined Trump’s efforts to undermine the will of the American electorate.

This comes after the announcement by Republican Senator Josh Hawley of Missouri, that he will join the Republicans in the House of Representatives in opposing the election results in the state during the joint congressional session on Wednesday.

Trump’s refusal to accept his defeat has torn the Republican Party apart as Republicans are forced to make dependency choices that will shape the post-Trump era, with Hawley and Cruz among the potential presidential contenders in the 2024 presidential election.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell had urged his Republican party not to attempt to overturn the election results that neutral election officials asserted had enjoyed a free and fair vote.

Republican senators who support Trump’s efforts to reverse the election results have acknowledged that they will not succeed in preventing Biden from being inaugurated on January 20, after winning the electoral college with 306-232 votes. But they insisted on the attempt, which represents the most extraordinary effort to undo the presidential election result since the civil war.

See Also:  Jörg Frischmann: "I want to win a medal"

“We do not take this measure lightly,” Cruz and other members of the Senate said of their attempt to counter endorsement of Biden’s election victory, in a joint statement.

The Republican group supporting Trump includes Senator Ron Johnson of Wisconsin, James Lancford of Oklahoma, Steve Dines of Montana, John Kennedy of Louisiana, Marsha Blackburn of Tennessee, Mike Brown of Indiana, Elected Senator Cynthia Loomis of Wyoming, Roger Marshall. From Kansas, Bill Hagerty from Tennessee, and Tommy Toberville from Alabama.

Biden transition team spokesman Mike Gwen dismissed these efforts as a “ruse” that would not change the fact that Biden would take the presidential oath on January 20.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.