What the FLHSMV Says You Should Do If You’re Involved in a Florida Car Accident

There are certain steps drivers in the state of Florida must take when involved in a traffic accident.

Foto:
Monkey Business Images / Shutterstock

Traffic accidents can be prevented, but some circumstances may make them unavoidable. Throughout the country there are procedures to manage the consequences or possible responsibility for these events, but in the state of Florida the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) recommends some steps to follow to be able to resolve everything related as soon as possible.

What should I do if I am involved in a traffic accident in Florida?

Every driver involved in a Florida traffic accident, in principle, must notify the authorities about the fact. In the state, as in the entire country, fleeing the scene of an accident is considered a crime. For that reason, time spent on site is often an excellent opportunity to gather information.

According to the FLHSMV, in the specific case of Florida, this notice —which is issued through a formmust take place whenever the crash involves at least $500 in estimated damage to another driver’s vehicle or private property. Also in those cases where injuries or deaths of some involved are reported. The form must then be sent to the postal address that appears on it.

After notifying the accident to the competent authorities, it is important that both parties continue the process by complying with the following steps:

1. Request insurance information from others involved. In the state, as in the entire country, driving without an insurance policy is illegal.. In that sense, if it is determined that one of the parties does not have one, the legal consequences could be much more serious for that person.

2. The request for these data can be made directly by the other party involved or, if this cannot be done, by your lawyer or your insurance agent. Disclosure of this information to third parties is not permitted in the state.

3. Said application begins by completing a insurance claim form and continue to obtain a copy of the accident report that has been filed by the authorities. This last requirement can be replaced by the form that was completed to report the accident.

4. The collected documents must be sent to the following postal address:

Customer Service Correspondence Center
2900 Apalachee Parkway, Room A216, MS 99
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0585
Fax: 850-617-5216

After completing this process, the FLHSMV ensures that the information is processed in a maximum of 10 daysabout.

What if the accident resulted in injury or death to one of those involved?

According to the FLHSMV, crashes involving injury or death to one of the parties are often more serious because determine a greater responsibility on one of the parties involved. In these cases, the culprit falls under the State Financial Responsibility Law, which requires drivers in these circumstances to have a policy that includes:

1. Minimum bodily injury liability limits of $10,000 per person, $20,000 per collision.
2. Property damage liability of $10,000 per accident.
3. Personal injury protection limits of $10,000 per person per crash.

When the event only involves damage to property, the culprit must have a policy that covers this type of event in some way. If not, you should hire one as soon as possible while you resolve the issue. suspension of your license requesting reinstatement of your licenseanother parallel procedure that will end up being resolved in a final judgment.

You may also like:
What penalties and notifications you can receive from the FLHSMV if your car does not have insurance in Florida
The FLHSMV Guide to Preventing Your Car From Being Stolen in Florida
How to Get a Certificate of Title for a Vehicle in Florida

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.